Onslow String Quintets


Volume 1

“This is playing of great charm” – Richard Bratby, Gramophone Magazine

Volume 2

“Sublime….the power to charm and delight” – David Barker, Music Web International 

Volume 3

Expected Winter 2018!

The Elan Quintet

began from a combination of performance experience in lyric, symphonic, and chamber music shared between its members, all musicians in the opera orchestra of the Palau de les Arts. The combination of string quartet with double bass has opened up a richness of tone and distinct soundscape that the Elan Quintet has dedicated to exploring,

The George Onslow String Quintet Cycle

In 2015, the Elan Quintet began a project with Naxos Records to record the cycle of 34 string quintets by Anglo-French composer, George Onslow (1784-1853). Onslow was, in his era, a very well respected composer, known as the French Beethoven and close friends with Berlioz and Schumann. However, through the ages his chamber works were nearly forgotten and his string quintets have been all but neglected.

“Expressive lyricism and exuberent virtuosity”

– Robin Stowell, The Strad

“Their individuality and their substance is what makes the Elan Quintet shine.” – Guido Fischer, Rondo

The Musicians

Contact the quintet